London Visit

I’m still feeling dazed:
three shows in three days

and I ate my weight
in takeaways.

***

***

As usual, I’m late to the party: yesterday was World Theatre Day. I learned that when I turned on my computer to type up this poem, which I’d composed in the shower thirty minutes earlier.

Our youngest son is an actor and singer and he was in a show, Their Finest Hour. As a Christmas present, he and his lovely girlfriend bought us train tickets to London, plus tickets to see his show, plus tickets for us to see the Only Fools and Horses Musical, plus a ticket for me to see Hamilton, which the Hub has no interest in. He needed the rest day anyway, before we returned home on Friday.

It was a fabulous break, made perfect by the eldest son, wife, and baby braving the London traffic to pop in and see us.

***

Bonus Poem If You Read This Far

Thanks for looking;
my heart it overflows with joy –
the best part of the visit (if I’m honest)?
No cleaning or cooking.

***

(((

Leave a Comment