Surreality

Photo by Karyme Franu00e7a on Pexels.com

I place the child’s opticians’ test glasses on the cluttered table and turn to my dead mother in a South African house that is not hers. ‘Here’s a cheque for £15,’ she mutters; ‘it must last you for two weeks. There’s £45 to cover your six weeks here.’ Even in my dreams, I’m poor.

***

If you ever struggle to write, keep a notebook and pen next to your bed and jot down your dream as soon as you wake. Dream poems are fun to write. And not just poems: Stephenie Mayer famously had the idea for Twilight in a dream and – crucially – WROTE IT DOWN.

I’m not saying you’ll have a future best seller on your hands if you jot down your brain’s weird ramblings; but you never know…

***

I have some musings on Twilight on my Laughing Housewife blog, if you’re interested:

  1. In which Linda succumbs to peer pressure like a teenage girl
  2. In which Linda contemplates hair

***

1 Comment

  1. Ron. says:

    I hear and agree. Dreamography can certainly feed. Write on, Sister.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Comment